Upside Down

Today was going to be an scheduled no-yard day as it was supposed to be raining on and off from lunch time. It only rained for a wee while during the day though, so I was a bit put out. It looked like it might rain, maybe (a la winnie the pooh “tut, tut, it looks like rain) so I erred on the side of dry caution and decided to stay indoors!

This plan was stymied this afternoon though, as we had a guy turn up to cut the two troublesome trees down that were damaging the path and, potentially, growing roots under our home (not good.) We weren’t planning to be out lugging tree limbs, but he turned up to take a look and said he could cut them down straight away. And so… it ended up being the opposite of a lazy!

The tree cutting did a fair amount of damage to the vege patch but I think (touch wood) that I may have got them upright on the stakes soon enough. We had more rain tonight which I’m hoping will help rejuvanate the poor bent little guys.

Another byproduct of the tree dooming is that there’s a bunch of neat pieces of wood that I now have to play with. One piece from the bottom of the oak tree that I’m planning to turn into a fairy house thingy, which I would like to use in a little herb garden thingy. I kinda have a visual of what I want it to look like, but I’m unsure of my abilities to carve wood without carving myself, too!

By the time I had de-leaved myself and no longer looked and smelled like a treant, it was too dark to take photos. I’ll post some tomorrow of the mountain of debri that I get to chop up and maybe of the garden if it’s not too sad.

The broccoli and chives seedlings have bit the dust over the last day, I think it’s just been too hot for them. The next seeds I plant, I’ll start indoors and see if that helps. At this point, even if everything in the planter goes splat, I’m not too worried about having to replant. The progress over 3 weeks has been pretty good, so I could just replant everything if needed.

The day was capped off by treating my mum-in-law to a treat for dinner and a bunch of bright flowers. I also tried out a new recipe for a pineapple upside down cake which is her favourite type of cake. I’m hoping the cake turns out well, as it looks pretty on the site I pulled the recipe from. If it works out, I’ll post it to the food part of this site!

 

Potential fairy house.. maybe?

Update: Nope, my bad cake juju continues. It turned out pretty but lied to me when it told me it was cooked through (the toothpick was clean!). When inverted, the middle was uncooked and couldn’t be salvaged. Tomorrow I’ll try again using the same recipe in cupcake form, which is mum-in-law’s preferred cake format anyway.

Leave a Reply

