Smoky skies today

I was going to get stuck into making the second planter, and some kinda frame for the cucumbers today… until I went outside and saw the strange orange colour of the light out there. Overnight, the wind has driven the smoke from the West Mims fire (in the Okefenokee swamp) over Jacksonville. It’s quite windy today and the combination of it all lends itself to quite an apocalyptic effect outside. I couldn’t quite capture it with the camera, but it reminded me of the neat coloured sunsets we would get in NZ when Mt Pinutubo erupted.

 

I did get the beans staked, and added some support for the peas too as they’re starting to curl up with each other (cute, but the wrong direction.) After the rain the other day, I lost 2 bean plants but, conveniently, I had 2 rogues grow in a pot that I had thought was empty so I moved them over. It’s good to find a use for all that bamboo in the garden.

 

 

Since it’s not really good breathing weather outside, I guess I’ll just have to play inside instead.  Watch out monsters, here I come!!

Leave a Reply

